Objective
Retire a policy to remove it from active view
Environment
PolicyStat
Procedure
If a policy is no longer needed, it can be retired and removed from the general view by the policy's Owner, Area Manager (if the ability to do so is enabled on the needed site), or Site Administrators, who always have the ability to retire documents, regardless of the setting. For information on how to turn off or on the ability for Owners, Area Managers, and Area Administrators to retire documents, see this article (must be a Site Administrator in Support Portal to view it).
- Open the active version of the policy to be retired in view mode. Documents cannot be retired in edit or pending view.
- Locate the Retire option in the toolbar at the top of the policy in view mode.
- For some users if the Retire option is not visible, the Site Administrator may have removed the ability to retire or the account being used may not have appropriate permissions to retire. Site Administrators always have the retire option regardless when in view mode on active policies.
- If an active document has a pending and/or draft version they will be deleted when the active version is retired.
- Policies that have only pending or draft versions are not able to be retired until the pending version completes the workflow, or the pending version is deleted.
- In the comment box enter the rationale for retiring the policy.
- When retiring, if a draft version exists it will be deleted permanently. A warning will appear if a draft version exists when the retire button is clicked.
- Click the Retire Policy button.
*Note: Once a policy has been retired, only Site Administrators have the ability to view retired policies. For Site Administrators to unretire a Policy please see this article.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.